PDA

View Full Version : Recipes for homeade wool wash?

craftymomto5
04-14-2007, 02:50 PM
I am new to using wool but would like to make my own wool wash instead of buying it. Does anyone have any recipes for one/ A DS momma gave me some lavender eucalan but it smells too much like our dogs flea shampoo.:yuck: Where can I get some good essential oils too? :lostit:

janendragon
04-14-2007, 03:38 PM
i use a little of my fav conditioner..... its always made my wool super soft!

craftymomto5
04-14-2007, 05:39 PM
:bumpsign:

serinat
04-14-2007, 05:43 PM
I use a squirt of Dr. Bronners (vegetable castile soap) to wash my wool covers.

To lanolize, I squeeze a 1/2" tube of lanolin into a cup of hot (almost boiling water) to dissolve. Adding a bit of Bronner's or baby shampoo to the cup will help disperse the lanoline throughout the liquid. Add this cup of solution to a tub or sink of cold water, and add your covers. Let them sit 10 minutes before draining.

cotton_jmb
04-14-2007, 05:43 PM
:popcorn:

susansabrina
04-16-2007, 10:26 AM

To lanolize, I squeeze a 1/2" tube of lanolin into a cup of hot (almost boiling water) to dissolve. Adding a bit of Bronner's or baby shampoo to the cup will help disperse the lanoline throughout the liquid. Add this cup of solution to a tub or sink of cold water, and add your covers. Let them sit 10 minutes before draining.

That sounds great. I make my own soap but I was afraid to use it to wash diapers and I guess just never thought about it for wool.

crunchymomma
04-16-2007, 03:13 PM
I use ivory soap bars (plain white ones). Cheap and they work GREAT.

attachmom
04-27-2007, 09:12 AM

When you use Dr. Bronners to wash your wool, do you need to rinse it after washing?
Thanks!

kocho
04-28-2007, 09:27 AM

I'm so glad I read this!! I looked at the lanolizing threads and was still confused. Thanks for the nice simple instructions!!

BabyBums
04-28-2007, 09:34 AM
I've alway just used the recipe on the fern and faerie site.