PDA

View Full Version : Heating up refrigerated formula?

phoofy
04-06-2008, 01:19 AM
So I'm new to formulas and I a have a silly question ...

If you make some in advance and store it in the fridge (instructions on our can of Neocate says to do so), do you warm it up before giving it to your LO? If so, can you still dunk the bottle in a container of warm water (like we did with expressed breast milk)? A warm water bath isn't bad for the formula, is it? (I didn't see anything on the can about this.)

Or do you give the formula cold? Leave it at room temperature?

With expressed BM, we would leave some of DS' bottle out to help take the chill out. Is it OK to leave a bottle of formula out for 5-6 hours (assuming it's pretty cool inside the house/room)??

Thanks,
maria

ashleykaymay
04-06-2008, 01:24 AM
we gave it cold but if he wanted it warm we ran it under hot water for a little bit and gave it a good shake. a warm water bath is good too.

DO NOT leave formula out for more then two hours. it can't sit like BM can. also, once they drink it, it needs to be gone in an hour. bacteria can get in there from their mouths and it can't be left out longer.

HTH! :thumbsup:

phoofy
04-06-2008, 01:39 AM
Thank you!

Time to buy a mini fridge upstairs ... might get a little dangerous walking down the stairs in the middle of the night to get a bottle from the fridge. And the cat's not helping by walking by our feet.

:giggle:

ashleykaymay
04-06-2008, 01:46 AM
Thank you!

Time to buy a mini fridge upstairs ... might get a little dangerous walking down the stairs in the middle of the night to get a bottle from the fridge. And the cat's not helping by walking by our feet.

:giggle:

my cat is the same way! :giggle: it gets even worse because she drags baby toys up the stairs and just leaves them sitting there!

uoducks
04-07-2008, 12:49 AM
either run it under warm water or microwave it, both worked for me.