PDA

View Full Version : Question for 3rd grade reading . . .

twinsmomkatie
10-09-2006, 08:45 PM
I currently tutor a 3rd grade girl in reading and language arts; I am a certified teacher, but not for elementary grades. Most curricular reading books I have perused have short stories, poems, and longer stories . . . would she be okay just reading fun stories? Like from the library?

She is currently memorizing some poetry for me, and doing very good writing projects, but not very interested in reading from a textbook-style collection. Going for the classics . . .

Any ideas? Fun reading projects?

1bigfamily
10-09-2006, 11:13 PM
I just let me kids check out whatever they like from the library. They have grown leaps and bounds from that. Maybe you could tell her to go and pick out a book. you could select the type of book, non-fiction, fiction, etc. and she could pick out the actual book to read. In my experience, they enjoy it a lot more that way. You could even pick a specific book that you think would appeal to her and have activities to make it come alive. For example, if you picked a book about an Egyptian princess, you could make a model of a pyramid and draw pictures of what she thinks the princess looked like, you could be very creative and it would really impact her and her desire to read more. The more interested she is in it the better she will be at it. How often do we read text books in real life? HTH

annes_cottage
10-10-2006, 08:36 AM
I am not sure what reading level the Little house on the Prairie books are at but my 2nd grader is reading them and loves them. Those are helpers for history too. Tells how people lived back then, how the chores differed....stuff like that.

Christy
10-10-2006, 08:47 AM