PDA

View Full Version : How do I make this work?

turtle2who
12-24-2008, 02:10 PM
I am on a year's leave of absence from work right now. It is looking like I will have to go back next fall (I am a teacher.) My first concern is finding the right care situation for my son who will be 4 then. My ideal would be to get him into a Montessori program about 20 minutes from where I work. He could either go 1/2 day or full day. Either way I would need someone to pick him up because I couldn't get there in time- the latest they go is 3:25.

I know there must be working moms out there with interesting daycare situations who might have some insight on this. Does anyone have a child that goes to preschool in one place and then afternoon daycare somewhere else? That would be ideal to me- to put him in preschool for the morning and have someone pick him up and bring him to their house for lunch, rest time and play time before I pick him up. Preferably a SAHM or daycare provider.

If that is impossible to find, then I could put him in preschool all day until 3:25 but I still need to find someone to pick him up for me at 3:25 every day. The earliest I could get to him would be 3:35 and that would be on a good day- totally rushing- hoping I don't get stuck behind a bus, etc.

Where would I even find someone like this? I'm afraid if I put an ad in the paper or something I would get all kinds of cuckoos. And is it crazy to let someone else drive my child? Argh. I am stressing about this. I have to apply for the Montessori now for next fall.

Thanks for reading this far :goodvibes:

dollbabysmom
12-25-2008, 08:02 PM
You can find an in-home provider who will take and pick up from pre-school. My daycare provider does that for several of the kids she cares for during the week. Good luck!

turtle2who
12-25-2008, 09:42 PM
That is good to know. So you didn't look for your's specifically for that reason? I don't know where to start looking.