Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   For those dealing with recurrent, constant thrush...there IS hope!!! (and benefits!!) (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1000612)

1blessedmama 06-03-2010 05:16 PM

For those dealing with recurrent, constant thrush...there IS hope!!! (and benefits!!)

UPDATE- I thought I'd go ahead and just link this to my blog post about my battles, as it has more accurate, detailed information (outside of the common recommendations). I hope this continues to help others out there! Thrush is AWFUL.
http://joyfilledmama.blogspot.com/20...ould-have.html

A little background...I've been nursing for 4 years and 3 months straight- through 2 pregnancies, tandem nursing, and now triandem nursing. With my first daughter we got a very minor case of thrush at about 4 weeks, but it was gone as quickly as it came. Never dealt with it again until a year and a few months ago, DD2 was 7ish months old and I got my wisdom teeth out, got an infection, and went on antibiotics. Most of my issues since have stemmed from that- initially I had thrush for 10 weeks before I got rid of it, and I've had it about 12 or 13 times since for anywhere from 1-7 weeks at a time- since DS was born, I've had it for about 2.5 out of the 3 months!! I mean, I know I already had some systemic candida issues, as I think most American's do these days, but the antibiotics TOTALLY worsened things. (and for the record, we avoid abx at pretty much all costs nearly all of the time, so I knew I was in for trouble when I was taking them but I was desperate and in pain! :laugh: )