Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Diaper Chatter and Q & A (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   "soakers", "inserts", & "doublers" - is there a difference? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1002750)

BellyMonstersMama 06-07-2010 06:17 AM

"soakers", "inserts", & "doublers" - is there a difference?

I'm new to CD and I've seen all of these terms used, but I'm wondering what the difference is between them all?

And, I'm also wondering what is the most absorbent material to make them from... thanks!

RockinLou 06-07-2010 06:28 AM

Re: "soakers", "inserts", & "doublers" - is there a difference?

soakers: inside an AI2 - material is safe against baby's skin (but no reason it can't also be used as an insert!)

inserts:designed to go inside pocket diapers, many are microfiber, and should not go against baby's skin... but if they are natural fibers, there's no reason the can't be used as a soaker!

doublers: smaller/trimmer than the above items, designed to add absorbency for nap-time or heavy wetters, not absorbent enough to be used alone

HTH :goodvibes:

PureBliss 06-07-2010 07:12 AM

Also wanted to add that "soakers" are also pull on covers, made of either wool or fleece.

ETA: my favorite materials for doublers and inserts are either bamboo, hemp or cotton. I try to stick with more natural fibers and stay away from the synthetics, like microfiber and zorb.

BellyMonstersMama 06-07-2010 08:23 AM

Thanks ladies!!! :smooch:

RockinLou 06-07-2010 12:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PureBliss (Post 10435164)
Also wanted to add that "soakers" are also pull on covers, made of either wool or fleece.

ETA: my favorite materials for doublers and inserts are either bamboo, hemp or cotton. I try to stick with more natural fibers and stay away from the synthetics, like microfiber and zorb.