Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Parenting Talk (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Saying the "R" sound (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1155176)

*Hadassah* 02-06-2011 09:24 PM

Saying the "R" sound

At what point is it crucial to be able to say the "r" sound? Any tricks to help him say it?

My ds is almost 2. R's end up as a W or Y sound (woad for road, watey for water, etc.). I've been working with him when we play (making the cars go rrr, rrrr) and having him try to mimic my mouth saying word with R's, but I'm just not sure how to help him any more, or if I should even worry about it just yet.

megkmc 02-06-2011 09:43 PM

Re: Saying the "R" sound

R is one of the more difficult sound and one of the last to develop. DD#1 couldn't say R until about 2 1/2. So I am not an expert, but I wouldn't be worried yet.

z2akids 02-06-2011 09:44 PM

rrrr is actually one of the last sounds that are developmentally appropriate. Our school doesn't normally start speech therapy for "r" sounds until 2nd grade. So 6-8 ish years old is when you should expect that to be correct.

My son started speech in 1st grade (at 6) for his R's because they were actually hindering his reading. However, that was unusual in terms of therapy because we believed for him it was habitual, not developmental.

At this stage, I wouldn't worry about it at all. Certainly, continue to model the correct sound, but anticipate that he will improve as his motor function improves.

Janine 02-06-2011 10:10 PM