Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Alaska & Hawaii (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=124)
-   -   New to Alaska (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1182264)

Lenae 03-23-2011 06:21 PM

New to Alaska

Hi! Just thought I'd drop in and say hey. I'm new to Alaska, been here three weeks today, and I've been cloth diapering for three days now. We're living in Unalaska, out in the Aleutians. I'm finding shipping to be quite a bit of a hassle out here, since FedEx doesn't even deliver to the island. Ugh. It's cool to find a sub-forum devoted to AK and HI!

Rik-e 03-25-2011 12:38 PM

Re: New to Alaska

HI mama! As a general rule, I never use UPS or fedex. Just regular old post office works the best & the flat rate boxes really cut back on shipping costs most times.
Can I ask where you moved from & why you chose Unalaska? We live in Wasilla area & I grew up mainly in Alaska so it is home to me.
Welcome!

alaskangrown90 04-14-2011 11:27 PM

Hey! I live in Anchorage :) we have some local places that sell dipes here :D

MamaNotes 04-15-2011 12:48 AM

Hi! :) I live in Alaska too!

Foolalex 04-15-2011 05:10 AM

We just moved here (from WA) to Anchorage about 6 months ago! We've thought about going to Unalaska but UAA's nursing program isn't available that far out (yet). We're thinking about maybe moving farther west if my hubby can find a good job. Where are you from OP?

Lenae 04-25-2011 01:12 AM

Sorry it took so long to write back, my computer was broke and all I had for the net was my phone, which does NOT work well up here.