Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work out of Home Moms (WOHM) (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=168)
-   -   Summer care for schoolagers? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1197867)

skolbut 04-19-2011 10:41 PM

Summer care for schoolagers?

Hi mamas,
I'm a teacher by trade but currently SAH with my littles (a product of our crappy economy). Our neighbor has two school age boys, 6 and 8, and has asked if I'd be interested in watching them for the summer. Legally I can do it without a license, because I can watch up to two unrelated kids. They're easy, awesome kids and I really think it will be more fun than work to have them here.

Now, my dilemma... what should I charge?? A friend of mine suggested $25 per kid per day, so $250 a week? I know for my littles that would be a steal, I think the going rate is about 175 a week for a 2yo, but I have NO IDEA what to charge for an easy, big kid. PLUS, the whole point is to save their family some money, and I need to cover my food and expenses (breakfast and lunch and some gas).

Any other opinions?? Michigan's COL is lower than say California or NYC so take that into consideration, too :)

doodah 04-20-2011 11:36 AM

Re: Summer care for schoolagers?

What is she willing to pay? I would have them eat breakfast at home and bring a sack lunch. Thats what they would do during the school year anyway.

skolbut 04-20-2011 06:47 PM

I would but mom and dad leave for work early. The big boys would have to sit and watch my kids eat breakfast -- no fun. We're pretty simple in the morning anyway.

Kriket 04-20-2011 07:13 PM

What kind of hours is she wanting?

skolbut 04-20-2011 08:54 PM

7-5 at least. Maybe 6 if dad gets stuck at work, 4 if dad can get home early enough.

nakedbabytoes 04-20-2011 10:47 PM