Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Testing the WAHM Waters (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   Any teachers/tutors/in-home babysitters have advice? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1214394)

maeus 05-19-2011 08:24 PM

Any teachers/tutors/in-home babysitters have advice?

DH wants me to find a job. :( I have a degree/experience teaching grades K-8 and reading intervention, but I would like to be able to stay home with my little ones, the youngest arriving in September.

I would LOVE tips/advice/warnings from mamas who either tutor, teach, or babysit out of their homes to make extra money. How did you go about finding families? How much do you charge? What legal issues do I need to be aware of? In general...HELP! I REALLY do not want to be teaching full time this fall if I don't have to. I just hate the thought of missing out on my babies growing up and being in childcare even part time. :(

Fleece Be With You 05-19-2011 10:31 PM

Re: Any teachers/tutors/in-home babysitters have advice?

Try Care.com, I am a nanny and have found some great people on that site, I am starting work for one of them next week. They have a section for tutors as well. Good luck, it's hard to go back to work! If your home is suitable to doing home childcare, you may want to consider that option as well. I charge a bit less than the "going rate" for a nanny, since I do bring my son with me. You'll have to do some research to figure out how much that is in your area. As far as taxes are concerned, they'll have to file as your employer if you're in their home, and they'll have to fill out some paperwork and figure out withholding and all that, just like for any other job.

maeus 05-19-2011 10:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fleece Be With You (Post 12974667)