Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Parenting Talk (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   What's up with all the "graduations" from everything? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1221001)

Joyful Tie Dyes 06-02-2011 08:25 AM

What's up with all the "graduations" from everything?

Graduations from the 3 year old class, graduations from Kindy, graduations from 3rd grade etc. I have recvd invitations from no less than 6 graduation parties for kids under 10.

I think it all takes away from the specialness of REALLY graduating.

Kriket 06-02-2011 08:29 AM

Re: What's up with all the "graduations" from everything?

Ita. When I graduated from community college I was like sweet, I finished! No parties, no presentsxc. It felt silly to get pumped about commu it college. Evidently, I should have thrown a rager, because my 6y/o nanny-kid is having a kindly graduation blow out, so dumb.

Sry 4 typos auto correct is the devil

jacquelinemarie82 06-02-2011 08:30 AM

That's how my husband feels. He HATES Kindergarten graduations. I don't hate them but the madness has to stop somewhere. 3rd grade graduation???? Not necessary. Their parents and close family can celebrate at home.

JeDeeLenae 06-02-2011 08:39 AM

I thought the school's Kindergarten graduation ceremony was cool, but it wasn't time for an open house. Maybe they're trying to keep it special so kids will keep going every year and not drop out? They have a "promotion" ceremony for the other kids here.

Joyful Tie Dyes 06-02-2011 08:39 AM

Every child I know regardless of age is having a "graduation".

katiekat1032 06-02-2011 08:41 AM

I think Kindergarten and preschool graduations are ridiculous. What makes those years any more special than the rest? And a third grade graduation? I don't get it.

Janet4 06-02-2011 08:49 AM