Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Pregnancy (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   vitamin k and eye "goop" at birth (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1221834)

sugar_booger 06-03-2011 04:40 PM

vitamin k and eye "goop" at birth

posted this in DD group, but thought I'd open it up and see what everyone else has to say :thumbsup:

so this is my 3rd baby, but I'm still new to more natural living... and since joining DS I've heard people turn down having the vit K shot and eye antibiotics with their babies. I never thought to question this in my other kids, our hospital doesn't do vaxes in the hospital, just the vit k and goop... and my OB has never said their were risks to either (she has never really explained why they do it routinely though either). Soooo... anybody want to give me some facts on this stuff and why I would or would not want to have it done with this baby? I will be askingn my OB next appt. too, but I thought I'd do some background research before I go to her, in case she brushes it off as an "oh it's something we all do, why wouldn't you want to, etc." topic.

bigmamakelsey 06-03-2011 04:44 PM

Re: vitamin k and eye "goop" at birth

The eye goop is basically used if you have a venereal disease like clymidia (sp?) so the baby wouldn't go blind if exposed to the disease. I don't have any venereal diseases, so I refused it. The vit K helps clot blood, so we used vit. K drops.

sugar_booger 06-03-2011 04:58 PM

are there any risks to either though? I don't mind doing both, for just in case purposes, if there is no side effect/risk. I don't have any STDs, so I"m not worried there :thumbsup: is there any other infection the eye would be susceptible to that I could pass though??

poskozim 06-03-2011 05:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigmamakelsey (Post 13070419)