Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Craft Chat (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   How do I do 2+ skeins and get them to come out the same? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1327812)

MotherMoonPads 12-25-2011 08:44 PM

How do I do 2+ skeins and get them to come out the same?

I'm really new to dyeing yarn. I tried kettle dyeing two skeins at the same time, and one of them came out a shade lighter than the other.

My children are getting bigger, and there are very few projects I can do with one skein so I'm going to have to figure out this whole dyeing two skeins and having them match thing :giggle:

How do you do it?

KaysieW003 12-25-2011 10:33 PM

Re: How do I do 2+ skeins and get them to come out the same?

Maybe you need a wider pot? Or lay the two skeins together and then place into the pot

TheGreenBee 12-25-2011 11:40 PM

For me kettle dying doesn't work. I wind the two skeins into a long hank then lay it out on a garbage bag and squirt the dye on with a baster or squirt bottle then let sit for a bit, then I gently put it in a casserole dish and put it in the oven on 250 or the microwave and cook it that way.

Really, I can spell. It's my phone that can'tSent from my iPhone using DS Forum

MotherMoonPads 12-28-2011 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KaysieW003 (Post 14338868)
Maybe you need a wider pot? Or lay the two skeins together and then place into the pot

I was using a quart sized water bath canner. It's one of the biggest pots I've ever seen. I did lay the skeins one on top of the other though, and the bottom one came out lighter. Is there some other way I should be putting them in? Thanks :)

KaysieW003 12-28-2011 01:40 PM