Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Wire bras? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1333519)

FormallyMichele 01-07-2012 10:30 AM

Wire bras?

I've been nursing for 2 months. I've been using wireless bras but the lack of support is bothering me. My breasts are heavy and large and I prefer a wire, but I've heard wires are a big no-no. Advice?

tibeca 01-07-2012 10:36 AM

Re: Wire bras?

Wireless bras aren't necessarily a "no-no." It is ESSENTIAL to wear the absolute right size while nursing. Be resized and try different styles to find what fits best. There are plenty of underwire nursing bras out there. IF you can't find one in your size, (I never can) it is acceptable to buy a stretchy lace type bra and sew on nursing clips. In order to know whether a bra is stretchy enough, put the bra on. Take 1 strap off your shoulder and see if you can easily/comfortably pull the cup down to expose your breast for nursing.
Good luck!

mamaspice 01-07-2012 10:38 AM

I have heard that after your milk supply (and size) has regulated, and if you are wearing the correct size, it is okay. An ill fitting underwire could damage breast tissue or inpede milk, causing an infection.

If you have a Nordstrom nearby, they are the experts at bra fittings, and carry Bravado nursing bras both with and without wires as well as a few other high end brands. The brands they carry are expensive, but I think it's worth going to get a fitting and buy one or two- once you know your correct size and how a bra is supposed to feel (comfy and supportive), you can bargain shop.

lj2blessed 01-07-2012 11:01 AM