Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Craft Chat (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Sewing upcycled woolies (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1339521)

Mara'sMommy 01-18-2012 08:51 PM

Sewing upcycled woolies

1 Attachment(s)
Hey ladies,

I am a very very beginner sewer. I've started experimenting with making upcycled woolies from sweaters that I bought at goodwill. What's the best type of stitching and best thread for this? Also, is there a better stitch to use on the waist band so it doesn't look so... Weird? I'll post a picture of my first pair, please don't laugh!! It's a bad picture, I'm sorry.

Mara'sMommy 01-19-2012 11:01 AM

Anyone?

Rdesonia 01-20-2012 07:32 AM

Re: Sewing upcycled woolies

I haven't made any but the ones I've seen had the bottom band of the sweater as the waistband and the legs were the arms. I've read others say they pre-sew before they cut so they don't have unraveling issues.
Where are all the upcycling mamas?

One Little Window 01-20-2012 12:01 PM

I've never really had unraveling issues. Although I do machine wash - usually in cold or warm depending on if I want any felting before hand.

I use really boring poly thread from walmart for everything. mostly because I'm lazy and sew basically everything with white, black or tan - that way I don't have to redo bobbins...

I do zigzag stitching for everything so that it'll stretch with the knit. But I sort of made that up, so I don't know if anyone else does that at all. I think they look great for a first pair. My first pair - well, let's just say one of the legs was inside out, among other things... :)

AniMommy 01-20-2012 01:59 PM