Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Adoption and Foster Care (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=152)
-   -   anyone adopted and nursed from birth? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1341701)

sunnymommy 01-22-2012 09:41 PM

anyone adopted and nursed from birth?

We may be adopting a baby this summer. (My 3 year old's birthmom is expecting and has asked us to take the baby.) My little guy will be 16 months old then so I should still have milk. If it happens, I would like to nurse the next baby immediately from birth. Anyone have suggestions from experience? I am not sure how that would work or what to expect. I know it is a long ways out and assuming a lot, but I can't help thinking through everything....

newmommy13 01-22-2012 09:44 PM

Re: anyone adopted and nursed from birth?

i have no experience but if i had milk i would definitely nurse that baby! :loveit:

good luck!

FindingMercy 01-22-2012 10:42 PM

This is my plan for when we adopt. I'm taking herbs and pumping several times a day to up my supply and have freezer milk. I would start pumping at least once a day now if I were you.

misidawnrn 01-22-2012 11:09 PM

Yes, I nursed DD from birth (well, about 2.5 days after birth because she was in the NICU) and I nursed until she was 33 months old. She just weaned last month. I would suggest http://asklenore.info/ It is where I got all of my info on nursing, protocols, etc. She developed the Newman Goldfarb protocol with Dr Jack Newman. He also has a website for nursing. I actually got to meat him last year at a conference. Good luck!

Beth. 01-23-2012 09:31 AM

sunnymommy 01-23-2012 11:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FindingMercy (Post 14506979)