Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Newbie Questions.. (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1371793)

MyKzooFamily 03-25-2012 03:00 PM

Newbie Questions..

I'm new to breastfeeding, but SO glad I am sticking with it this time instead of giving up early and switching to formula. Luckily DD hates formula (even soy), and might have a milk allergy, so I'm pretty much suckered into EBF'ing. And she smiles after every nursing session, so who could say 'no' to that?! :wub:

1. When your nipples get that pin-prickle feeling, that means I'm engorged, right? It happens every hour, or every 2 hours, and at that time my boobs are usually pretty hard, but sometimes not at all, so I'm assuming that means I'm engorged?

2. I noticed when DD latches and sucks for 1-2 seconds, the milk 'lets down' on both sides. I just got a Milkies Milk-Saver and was amazed how much milk leaks from the other side during the let down. Is this normal? Do other moms just have the breast pads soak up the milk from the other side?

3. How do I know when my boobs are empty? I can tell when she first starts eating she is getting milk. Her sucks are long and slow, and she gulps after. But then the sucks pick up, and are more intense, and if it starts hurting I unlatch her and switch sides. From how hard and fast she is sucking I'm assuming there is nothing there and she is trying to get more. How do I know when there is nothing left? Or when I should switch sides?