Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Parenting Talk (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Do you wear your baby/toddler during pregnancy? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1389343)

greengranny 05-04-2012 02:34 AM

Do you wear your baby/toddler during pregnancy?

Dd is nearly 9 weeks along, and has a 19 lb, 9 month old. She wants to know if it's safe to wear him in the Moby even though it puts pressure on her lower abdomen/uterus.

Since there were no Moby wraps back in the stone age when my kids were babies, I have no experience to draw from.

Opinions?

AngelicasMommy 05-04-2012 05:03 AM

I don't know for sure, so hopefully someone else can answer but I think, as long as it doesn't cause discomfort, it should be fine.

Mamaseitz 05-04-2012 05:35 AM

I'd suggest a more supportive wrap or carrier. The moby started being uncomfortable for me when dd was about 12 lbs bc she was squirmy. I know they say wovens or maybe even a gauze wrap are more supportive. Maybe a ssc like a Gemini or beco butterfly that has a hip belt might be more comfy. I love my gemini. Send an email to Jillian@paxbaby.com, she is awesome and knows everything about baby wearing and answers emails really quickly:-)

qsefthuko 05-04-2012 06:01 AM

Re: Do you wear your baby/toddler during pregnancy?

I used a sling for my 35-40lb 3 1/2 year old daughter when I was pregnant with ds1. It didn't put pressure on my stomach however as I held her on my hip. I don't think I would have been comfortable with a carry putting pressure on my stomach.

luvsviola 05-04-2012 06:21 AM

I know people that do it, though I personally would not be comfortable with it past the first few weeks.

Gitrecca 05-04-2012 06:55 AM