Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Diaper Chatter and Q & A (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Help! First ever wash of prefolds--bad staining (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1425101)

Michi84 07-28-2012 09:26 AM

Help! First ever wash of prefolds--bad staining

Please help! I'm VERY new to cloth and just did my first ever load of laundry. The BF stains are very yellow and stain immediately (not just the diapers but an accident on my sheets as well!)

I did:
Cold rinse with Bac-Out
Hot wash with lots of water and 1/4 scoop CountrySave
Cold rinse (my machine doesnt do a hot rinse??)

I have them laying in the sun right now (straight from washer, still wet)

Anything I'm doing wrong?

Thanks ladies! Really want to make this work and so far I feel like I'm failing!

Squig'sMumMum 07-28-2012 09:43 AM

Re: Help! First ever wash of prefolds--bad staining

EBF poop does stain, but it should sun out in a couple hours :) If they aren't completely gone, rewet and put out again. I don't use any additives, just detergent and then sun. (Cold Speed Wash, Hot Wash with Planet powder 1/2 scoop with extra rinse, then into the dryer or out into the sun for stains)

Michi84 07-28-2012 10:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Squig'sMumMum (Post 15466011)
EBF poop does stain, but it should sun out in a couple hours :) If they aren't completely gone, rewet and put out again. I don't use any additives, just detergent and then sun. (Cold Speed Wash, Hot Wash with Planet powder 1/2 scoop with extra rinse, then into the dryer or out into the sun for stains)

Thanks so much for the advice!
Fingers crossed the sun works it's magic! :goodvibes:

gabmaxi 07-28-2012 10:14 AM

Try using a whole scoop of planet. You might have to do an additional rinse but I found this helped with staining.