Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work out of Home Moms (WOHM) (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=168)
-   -   Percent of paycheck to childcare? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1425572)

the_oz_girl 07-29-2012 07:34 PM

Percent of paycheck to childcare?

So, I'm getting ready to start a new job tomorrow. This is the first I've worked in nearly 10 years and my first job ever as a mom.I'm curious what percentage of your paycheck goes to child care. My sister in law is an in home care provider by trade and my sitter as well. She's cutting me a deal for being family and since this is such a first for me so I can at least have a chance to bring home gas money. I'm curious what other people spend on childcare!

sasra_nu 07-29-2012 07:56 PM

Re: Percent of paycheck to childcare?

I just started my 1st job as a mom a month ago. My childcare expenses are about 30% of my gross income, and I do pay them tax-free through an FSA account so that is a plus.

BUT we could not have afforded for my DD to go to preschool without me working - and for her, it was really important and she gets a LOT out of school. It really was the best decision for us, even though after childcare and gas, my hourly wage is pretty pitiful.

christi2705 07-29-2012 08:01 PM

This summer I spent almost 40% of my paycheck (net) on childcare for my 2. Once school starts it will be closer to 18%.

MelDM 07-29-2012 10:52 PM

We spend about $2000 on childcare per month and I net about $5000 a month. Sometimes both are a little higher or lower depending on which shifts I work, if I work weekends DH is home with the kids, so less for childcare.

ETA- sorry I know you asked for a percent but my brain isn't functioning after a very busy shift at work!! 2/5 is what?? 40% ish?

LadybugMonkey 07-29-2012 11:18 PM

I spend about 30% on childcare.