Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Pumping Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=192)
-   -   Pumps covered under Obamacare (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1430260)

senyaj79 08-09-2012 11:03 PM

Pumps covered under Obamacare

So I have heard that the cost of a pump is covered under Obamacare that started Aug. 1. Has anyone else heard this? Does anyone know if it is a manual pump, electric pump, or is that up to each insurance company? I am currently borrowing a pump from a trusted friend. But I have to give it back soon. I know I have to wait until open enrollment at work, which is September for me (I'm a teacher). But I can't find out how to take advantage of this. My insurance company's website is no help. Any ideas/answers?

PS - I also heard that your workplace MUST provide you a private, clean pumping area that is NOT a bathroom. How do I get my work to enforce this? My classroom is not private because it is connected to a stockroom that I share with 3 other teachers. The door to the stockroom has a large window and no lock on the door.

Rdesonia 08-09-2012 11:12 PM

Re: Pumps covered under Obamacare

Quote:

Originally Posted by senyaj79 (Post 15524577)
So I have heard that the cost of a pump is covered under Obamacare that started Aug. 1. Has anyone else heard this? Does anyone know if it is a manual pump, electric pump, or is that up to each insurance company? I am currently borrowing a pump from a trusted friend. But I have to give it back soon. I know I have to wait until open enrollment at work, which is September for me (I'm a teacher). But I can't find out how to take advantage of this. My insurance company's website is no help. Any ideas/answers?