Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   EC - Elimination Communication (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=128)
-   -   Need help beginning EC (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1450005)

Jomamma22 10-03-2012 10:30 AM

Need help beginning EC

I have a 3 1/2 month old boy named Jude and I am new to the idea of EC but would love to do it! I have NO idea how to start though and could definitely use some advice. Thankyou!

shen7 10-03-2012 02:45 PM

Check out the sticky threads at the top of the forum!!! :)

strongwoman 10-03-2012 07:22 PM

Re: Need help beginning EC

Welcome! I have a two month old and its been both fun and frustrating at times! Definitely check out some of the previous threads. But just in case you don't have time, here are a few things I've learned:
- buy a couple of potties, like top hat potties or the baby bjorn smart potty
-keep your diaper stash simple (I like prefolds and grovia or wool wrap covers) so that you won't end up relying on diapers all the time
-use t-shirts instead of onesies, I even cut a whole bunch of stretchy onesies so I didn't have to buy t-shirts
- take time to observe your baby's signals when he has to go pee and poops during diaper free time
- make the easy catches: poops are usually easier than pees to catch. You can also use generic timing (after waking, after eating, during eating) to make catches
- check out some of these websites: www.ecsimplified.com, www.diaperfreebaby.org, www.continuum-family.com
- prepare to get peed and pooped on! I just say everything is washable :)
- have fun!
Hope this was helpful and happy EC-ing!

R055ANA 10-05-2012 10:34 AM

Hi there Jomamma!

Welcome to the EC forum and congrats on your son Jude.

I am glad strongwoman got on here and gave you these excellent tips.