Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Pregnancy (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Can baby's position keep you from going into labor? **update** (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1451691)

HeatherlovesCDs 10-08-2012 11:07 AM

Can baby's position keep you from going into labor? **update**

I'm 39wks today. I continue to have a LOT of contractions. They are getting stronger and more and more frequent. Last night, I really thought I might be going into labor. They were very strong and painful and started coming about every 3-4 minutes lasting 90 secs. But, of course, as always, they stopped.

Since about 36/37wks, I've thought baby is head down, but posterior (facing up in case I'm using the wrong term). But, I'm not good at determining that and never have been even with 3 previous babies. I do know baby is head down.

So, today, I emailed my doula and told her about last night and how I keep starting, but not really going anywhere. Her response was that she is wondering if baby is in the right position and she linked me to a spinning babies page to help baby get in a better position.

I find it interesting that I've been thinking this for a while and now she is wondering the same. Can baby not being positioned correctly stop labor or hold it off? I'm planning to start doing the positioning to hopefully help. But, I was just wondering what other's experiences with this might be.

Thanks!