Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Homeschooling (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=52)
-   -   Starting home schooling after a bad start to the school year at public school (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1452424)

Indymomof3 10-10-2012 12:49 PM

Starting home schooling after a bad start to the school year at public school

So, I just pulled my dd out of public school today. Her teacher this year has been horrible and unfortunately was the only 4th grade teacher at her school. I have decided to home school, and want to choose a curriculum quickly and there are so many to choose from.
I am a licensed teacher, but a stay at home mom for now. What advice do you have for someone new to homeschooling? What curriculum do you like?

2queens&1princenmyhouse 10-10-2012 01:22 PM

Re: Starting home schooling after a bad start to the school year at public school

What kind of learner is your DD? Also what type of curriculum would you feel most comfortable teaching? Ideally you would find something that is what both of you would most want.

I have a 4th grader that is very antsy, strong-willed and disagreeable on most days. :rolleyes: On the upside, she is super smart and works well hands-on. We are doing Saxon 5/4, Scott Foresman Grammar/Writing (free online workbook), Spelling using the lists from Homespellingwords.com plugged into spellingcity.com. Story of the World Volume 1 (audio) with Mystery of History Volume 1 (read aloud if possible), Geography in 5 Minutes a Day (Scholastic e-book), Apologia Astronomy with Notebooking Journal. We're Catholic, so we're also doing a saint study right now. I have actual religion texts in my Amazon cart, but so far they haven't been purchased. :blush:

Her reviews...
She hates Saxon. They expect her to sit for an hour and do math. Ugh!