Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Is this the end? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1463091)

Hopefulily 11-12-2012 07:00 PM

Is this the end?

I'm really starting to worry. My little guy has been on a nursing strike! He has an ear infection but has been on an antibiotic since Friday. His fever broke yesterday and I thought he was feeling better. He was refusing to eat or drink much on Saturday and part of Sunday. He was drinking some water from a sippy cup and eventually took 2 bottles of expressed milk. Last night he woke up every 3 hours and I was able to get him latched. But, when he is awake he wants nothing to do with the breast! In fact, when the nipple gets close to his face, he gags like he is going to throw up. I am a teacher and generally express about 10 ounces while I'm away. Today I only expressed 6 ounces and he did not nurse at all! Is this the end? Please help, I'm not ready to be done and I hope he isn't either!

kushie tushie 11-12-2012 07:03 PM

How old is he?

Amanda :). Blaming my phone for typos and crap.

Hopefulily 11-12-2012 07:06 PM

He is 8 1/2 months old.

Sent from my iPad using DS Forum

kushie tushie 11-12-2012 07:50 PM

Honestly, I would say the poor guys feels like crap with an ear infection and is going through a natural nursing strike. I would nurse/pump through it. If he hasnt had any nursing problems that would lead you to believe that there is a problem I would assume its all ear infection stuff.

How long has he been on antibiotics for his ears now?

Hopefulily 11-12-2012 07:53 PM

He has been on since Friday. I thought he would be better by now! It's just so strange how he gags at the sight of my breasts!

VeganCupcake 11-12-2012 08:09 PM

Re: Is this the end?