Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Diaper Chatter and Q & A (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Dry pail stinking up my house! HELP! (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1464167)

Samantha313 11-16-2012 09:18 AM

Dry pail stinking up my house! HELP!

I keep my dry pail in my first floor bathroom. You know, the one guests use. I know it sounds gross, but it's in the corner and I close the lid when people are over. I've been CDing for almost 5 months and I'm just now having stinky pail issues. I can smell the stink through my house unless the bathroom door is closed. Any advice on how to get rid of the stink?! At this point I just want to put the entire pail in the garage!

Puffy Bums 11-16-2012 09:21 AM

Re: Dry pail stinking up my house! HELP!

We have our pail in the downstairs bathroom as well. We use a sprayer before we put the diapers in the pail and do not have an issue. Sometimes I smell the urine, but mostly only when I open it to add a diaper. Do you have a sprayer?

mariamommy 11-16-2012 09:30 AM

The actual pail and lid might need a cleaning. Do you use a pail liner and not clean out the pail that often?

Samantha313 11-16-2012 09:37 AM

I've never cleaned the pail. I use a liner that gets washed every diaper wash. I'll try that. Also, I do use a sprayer for poopies. Should I be using it on urine diapers too?
Thanks ladies!!

thealmightyme 11-16-2012 09:40 AM

I have found spraying the can and the dipes with bum genius deodorizer, or bac out helps tremendously.

abunchoflemons 11-16-2012 09:42 AM

Try wet pail? I had less stink that way.

keonli 11-16-2012 09:55 AM