Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Pregnancy (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Notifying my supervisor (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1466858)

ardeur 11-26-2012 11:38 AM

Notifying my supervisor

When would be the appropriate time to tell my supervisor that I'm pregnant? I suppose it depends on how early I start showing. I know I'll feel awkward telling her too early -- I hope to wait until my 2nd trimester. How is this normally handled?

evasimone 11-26-2012 12:26 PM

Re: Notifying my supervisor

I told at 12 weeks. Whenever you decide to notify make sure they are the first to know. You don't want her or him to hear it from one of your coworkers.

misskira 11-26-2012 12:46 PM

I told just a few days after finding out. I'm a special ed teacher though, and some major decisions were being made. They needed to know that we would have a sub for the end of my school year. We waited until 12 weeks to officially tell My students' parents, but i was starting to show so I was already getting questions. With my first I told at 9 weeks because i had some bleeding and was on pelvic rest. My job isn't very conducive to that, so my assistants needed to know. We told parents at 5 months that time, since it would be during summer break anyways.

I say wait to 12 weeks unless you obviously show, or have a need to tell sooner.

amb2j 11-26-2012 01:05 PM

I know the "books" tend to say around 4 months. With my first, I told around 5 months. With my second, I didnt officially tell until well after I was showing. But, I think that depends on your work climate too. My office is VERY laid back and "pro family." Also, there have been some changes in my clinics that would make it unnecessary to need/find coverage while out on maternity leave so all of those factors played a role in why I told so late :-)