Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Pregnancy (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   How to handle Maternity Leave (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1470291)

twinpossible 12-06-2012 09:01 PM

How to handle Maternity Leave

Background: I am a Professor at a university, I teach American Sign Language. People in my profession with the right amount of education are very rare. I am supposed to line up a sub for when I go on maternity leave. I found someone that is a former student of mine and has the qualifications. My work keeps changing the requirements for my sub to apply. This has caused me a TON of stress. I have to keep going back to the gal I want to hire and ask her for more information or paperwork. They got my co-workers involved and now they ALL need to approve of MY sub. They are demanding an interview with her with only DAYS notice and she lives 9 hours away. This all just seems mismashed and not legal at all. It is hard to find any rules or regulations on this matter and I am about to loose it and bite someone's head off. Does anyone have any advice on how to handle this situation?

misskira 12-06-2012 09:12 PM

Re: How to handle Maternity Leave

I guess at that point I would tell them to find their own sub. :dunno: I'm a teacher too, and totally get the stress of making sure your students are in good hands, and that there won't be a mess to clean up when you come back. When I went on leave they hired doozies for me both times. One barely made it through, and went nuts a few weeks later in her next assigmnepment. The next one they had to fire halfway through. which is almost unheard of with teacher unions involved. Both times they ignored who I suggested for their own "best candidate." :rolleyes:

evasimone 12-06-2012 09:34 PM