Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Pregnancy (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   It's SO much money... (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1484869)

ardeur 01-24-2013 10:49 AM

It's SO much money...

I just wrote a $4500 check to our homebirth midwives group. I have an appointment this afternoon and I was going to pay off the balance then. (I hate making payments and like getting my bills paid up front - always.)

THAT'S SO MUCH MONEY!

My HMO insurance will cover *everything* 100% if I have a hospital birth. *sigh* This hospital has a policy to induce at 40 to 41 weeks and they have a very high c-section rate.

I've been dreaming of a natural birth at home since I was a 11 years old watching my mother birth my sister at home.

Please say something to take my mind off this hefty chunk of cash! It's starting to make me a little sick. And no... my HMO insurance won't cover a penny.

MrsCrafty 01-24-2013 11:10 AM

Re: It's SO much money...

I think that like your mom birthing your sister at home, it'll be memories you'll never forget. :goodvibes:

cheezpoofs 01-24-2013 11:15 AM

At least you had the money to pay it. I hope that your birth is everything you hope and dream of and that you will find that it was well worth the money you spent to make it happen.

It really sucks that insurance companies are allowed to not cover the treatment that the consumer/ customer chooses. The system really is broken.

solobluedancer 01-24-2013 11:18 AM

It's just money. You can always get more money. But you will only have that particular experience ONCE.

scwendy 01-24-2013 11:18 AM

It is less than the price of most used cars that may or may not last 5 years (10 years even), and the memories will be forever.