Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Minimalist Families (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=222)
-   -   Newbie (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1485888)

alex_mommy08 01-27-2013 10:45 AM

Ok, So im just starting out on this adventure of being coming a true Minimalist Family. As we are a military family and move alot I want to be able to downsize our stuff not just when we move. I've already been doing it with certain things since I've switched out anything with chemicals, BPA, plastic, etc as we are a very green crunchy family. :thumbsup:

Any advice and information would be great. Thanks.

peaches330 01-27-2013 11:53 AM

Re: Newbie

I like to just take it one thing at a time and try to finish before moving on. I took on our useless clutter first, then the kitchen and then clothing. Still working on toys... ugh. Clothing seems to be a recurring issue though so I keep coming back to that. Working on getting better by only buying the kids a set number of outfits per season from this point on. Good luck! Don't worry about flying through it and getting it all done right away. I've been slowly working at it for probably a couple of years now and am still finding areas to improve upon, even though our lifestyle is dramatically different from how it used to be.

SarasynFox 01-27-2013 01:33 PM

Re: Newbie

I actually started out on this journey when I was an Army wife. I'm since divorced, but I'm still working on that since we've moved frequently in trying to get our feet back on the ground after our divorce. It's really easy to downsize with each move, but I wanted to do so much more than that.