Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Babywearing (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=66)
-   -   Best carrier for bad back (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1489490)

sailalong 02-06-2013 08:11 PM

Best carrier for bad back

Hey guys. I'm new to babywearing and am currently using a baby bjorn carrier for my ~10lbs 3 week old. The issue is that it seems to put most of his weight on my upper back and this is making me quite sore. I would like to find a carrier that puts most of his weight on my hips if this is possible? Thanks!

starbeam 02-06-2013 08:57 PM

Re: Best carrier for bad back

baby bjorns and carriers like it are the WORST for your back! i think the MOST supportive carrier is a good woven wrap (look up didymos wraps or bbslen wraps or natibaby wraps), but they can be spendy and are a little more difficult to use, although once you get the hang of it they're easy.

if you want a simpler carrier with buckles, go for an ergo, boba, beco, or kinderpack. they all cost about the same, so lot of the choice is what colors they offer. they all put the weight on your hips. i have an ergo for sale in excellent used condition since we like our wraps best. pm me if you're interested

ltlmrs 02-14-2013 09:11 AM

I have very weak shoulders and I find woven wraps to be the most supportive carriers. There is a learning curve, but well worth both the time and price!

clarinetb 02-14-2013 09:36 AM

I agree, woven wraps can be used from newborn through childhood and while they have a bit of a learning curve they have tonnes of different says of using them and it makes it a lot easier to change which muscle groups you are using as you get tired or sore, just by adjusting how you tie a bit.