Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Off Topic Discussion (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Food for thought: Food Labels i.e. trans fats (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1490669)

ljeanbeans 02-11-2013 12:09 AM

Food for thought: Food Labels i.e. trans fats

I took an applied chemistry class in college and I graduated in 2008. I remember learning that hydrogenated oils are trans fats. During that same period of time food labels were getting proud to announce that they were i.e. all natural. I picked up a container of something at the grocery store labeled no trans fat and looked at the ingredients. It had hydrogenated oil. Food labels lie sometimes. How are we to always know?

Erinne 02-11-2013 12:13 AM

Re: Food for thought: Food Labels i.e. trans fats

No trans fats, or 0 grams trans fats? They can make a serving size just small enough that it doesn't have a full gram and then say 0 grams. Totally sucks, but you just have to read everything.

mysticmomma1879 02-11-2013 12:34 AM

Partially hydrogenated = transfat. Not hydrogenated.

jbug_4 02-11-2013 04:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mysticmomma1879 (Post 16274284)
Partially hydrogenated = transfat. Not hydrogenated.

This.

And if there is less than .5g of trans fat it can be labeled as 0g of trans fat. Seems like I have read somewhere that if you look at the fat section on the label and add it up, If it doesn't add up to the total fat number then you have trans fat. I believe that even though they can mark it has 0g they still have to reflect it in the total fat. but its by increments of .5g and I believe they are allowed to round. So .2 could be rounded down to 0 in the total fat. We don't buy anything with hydrogenated or partially hydrogenated oils so i can't actually look at a label to check it out.