Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Homeschooling (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=52)
-   -   Reading program for a 5 year old (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1490708)

Tris 02-11-2013 09:11 AM

Reading program for a 5 year old

My daughter just turned 5(December) and I want to teach her to read. Unfortunately I'm a miserably impatient teacher and while I feel my daughter is smart, she just...frustrating. And frustrated, I'm sure. So before I teach her to hate learning because I suck so bad at it, are there any videos I can have her watch or something?? She'll be nearly 6 by the time she starts kindergarden.

blondeviolin 02-11-2013 09:15 AM

Re: Reading program for a 5 year old

If you want something spelled out for you and fun, I'd take a look at All About Reading. It is expensive, but has had glowing recommendations from nearly everyone who has done it.

7mom7 02-11-2013 09:31 AM

Hooked on Phonics (my fav) or Progressive Phonics (free)

Tris 02-11-2013 09:46 AM

Progressive phonics was frustrating, actually. I'm just not sure how to go about it I guess. And she knows all the letters, but she freezes up, and either doesn't talk, or starts telling stories, or says a different sound.

tallanvor 02-11-2013 09:55 AM

Do you know her learning style? That makes a huge difference in what program will probably work best.

tallanvor 02-11-2013 09:55 AM

Do you know her learning style? That makes a huge difference in what program will probably work best.

HeatherlovesCDs 02-11-2013 10:01 AM