Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Help for a friend (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1499939)

mommabritt 03-14-2013 12:40 PM

A friend of mine has a little boy, 4 weeks old, and she is still hurting while nursing. She is trying to ind a lactation consultant near us to meet with but it's tough.

I know many of us have endured pain for weeks and maybe months, but I don't think she'll last that long. She almost gave up last night. I am thinking latch/position issue but she says he's on correctly. She isn't comfortable with me checking, although I've got lots of nursing experience and have coached three girlfriends into successful nursing.

What can I do? Any ideas?

Nerissa 03-14-2013 12:47 PM

Re: Help for a friend

I thought my latch was right-- I had nursed two other babies without issue but she left me sore and bleeding within a week. The LC helped me tweek it just a tiny bit and Oh my Goodness the difference. DD was just a little to high. It took someone else watching from the front to see. When I looked from the top it looked right to me.

She defiantly needs to seek help ASAP. Like the LC and the LLL members told me---It should not hurt, uncomfortable at first, maybe but hold my breathe pain--no.

mommabritt 03-14-2013 12:55 PM

I'm glad you figured it out. And I completely agree, sometimes the smallest little tweak changes the whole thing. Quite amazing really.

She's tried different positions.

She is wondering if she can stop the session after 10 mins or so and offer a paci to see if he is just looking for sucking comfort. I can't see this going well for milk production but she is desperate.