Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   In The Kitchen (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Gluten/Diary Free Recipe Thread...Should We Start One? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1504660)

Mummandherboys 03-30-2013 03:51 PM

Gluten/Diary Free Recipe Thread...Should We Start One?

Hello Everyone!

Would anyone like to join me in starting a specific thread for gluten/diary free/etc. recipes/food site ideas/questions and more? I am new to GF and DF and would love your tried-and-true family favorite recipes and snacks. I am hoping to switch over our whole family as much as possible to make things easier all around.
I will share any favorite recipes that I try as well as any other blogs/sites that I come across!

I hope this will be helpful for many others too! :goodvibes:

Newton 03-30-2013 06:33 PM

Re: Gluten/Diary Free Recipe Thread...Should We Start One?

I have been cooking gluten free for 2 years for my daughter. I have found a way to adapt most of our recipes just using gluten free flour + xantham gum or using naturally gluten free ingredients. We tend to do lots of soups, and a pretty standard dinner for us is meat, veg, rice.
Baking takes a bit longer to adapt, but I find most recipes that have a good amount of leavening agent (baking powder/soda) adapt quite well to GF. And in baking most alternate milks (rice, almond, coconut, goats, lactose free milk) substitute one for one.
Good luck!

iris0110 03-31-2013 01:50 AM