Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   I'm making fat-free milk? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1505593)

Catbutt Diapers 04-03-2013 12:21 PM

I'm making fat-free milk?

I've been EPing for about 2 months, my supply dipped down to next to nothing so I started taking Domperidone. I've got my supply back up to about 10oz a day now. The last couple days my milk has been almost completely fat-free it will sit in the fridge over night and only have the teeny tinyest film of cream on top... it used to have a nice thick layer before the Domperidone. Is that normal? Is it supposed to switch to fat-free (Lulu is 9 months)?

l_Kimmie_l 04-03-2013 12:51 PM

Re: I'm making fat-free milk?

I have never had that happen. I would try adding more good fats to your diet.

keonli 04-03-2013 02:01 PM

Is your milk more bluish than white?

Van1300 04-03-2013 02:35 PM

Drink water! I can always tell the difference when I pump and don't drink enough.

Catbutt Diapers 04-03-2013 02:59 PM

It's very white/yellow. It has always been greenish, but the Dom. has turned it white/yellow. And I know I'm drinking enough water. My diet hasn't changed at all, but the fat is just gone!

evasimone 04-03-2013 04:52 PM

You know I am experiencing the same thing and I chalk it up to the pump and my ability to respond to it. I am pumping 6 times per day currently and breastfeeding DD about 3 times per day. When I was renting a hospital grade pump and EPing for 3 weeks I was getting milk with about an inch of fat in a 5 oz. Bottle. Now I am using an Ameda purely yours and I barely get any fat sometimes just a small oil slick floating on the top that I can only see because its a bit shiny.