Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   In The Kitchen (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Help! Meals for big families... (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1512154)

Dahlia64 04-26-2013 02:20 PM

Help! Meals for big families...

Im not very good at meal planning and need some help! Every night I have to go without dinner because what I make..there is never enough to go around. Tonight we had Italian sausage and I knew that there wasnt enough to eat on rolls for everyone, so I cooked them up and cut them up with onions and peppers and ate them over pasta. I made 8 sausages...and STILL not enough for me. And my kids wanted seconds but there wasnt enough for that even. It makes me feel awful and Im really tired of haveing toast everynite for dinner! If someone could maby give me some pointers or tips that would be great! We have 7 kids and 2 parents and soon another baby who will be joining us at the dinner table! Thanks

doulamomma 04-26-2013 02:27 PM

Umm.. make more food? Lol seriously though,I know the feeling. We went through a phase about 6 mo ago that the exact meal i had made the month before and had left overs wed all the sudden not enough to feed everyone. It's frustrating and a hard adjustment, but all you can do is make more until you get used to the new norm. Also adding something to stretch the food, like adding beans to ground beef, or make lots and plan on having leftovers for lunch the next day

Sent from my phone using DS Forum

myclanof6 04-26-2013 02:29 PM

Veggies! Cheaper than meat and make the main dish stretch.
What types of meals are you cooking?
When I make spaghetti for 6 I only use 1lb of meat and two lbs of pasta and that's enough for leftovers. Serve it with a side of veggies or a salad and it goes much further.

mel j 04-26-2013 05:12 PM