Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Pumping Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=192)
-   -   Pumping frequency? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1532290)

shoebert 07-17-2013 11:44 AM

Pumping frequency?

I've been EPing for 9 months now (LO was a preemie and never caught onto the BFing thing). I still try to pump every 3 hours during the day, and don't pump at night (between about 10pm and 5am). My supply is starting to go down, and I'm probably going to stop pumping by the time LO is 1. Is still pumping every 3 hours excessive? I figure he only eats every 4-5 hours and if I were BFing then my supply would have adjusted to that. Does it work the same way with pumping? Or will it just decrease my supply even more?

It's just frustrating to keep pumping every 3 hours and be getting so much less than I did before.

twood80 07-17-2013 03:29 PM

Re: Pumping frequency?

Pumping always takes more work than nursing (frequency and duration), and drops off faster than nursing supply after LO starts eating food. Sorry, I don't EP so I can't help more.

BiskMama 07-18-2013 12:50 PM

Has anything changed like your diet or fluid intake? When I EPED if either of thoughs factors changed, my supply plummeted. Also could your pump be waring out, thus not stimulating you enough? In my opinion, your schedule sounds fine. Good luck, and congrats for nine months!

Smplyme89 07-18-2013 12:56 PM

It really depends on how much your producing if you can start stretching out your pumping sessions. I didn't EP (though I did go back to work full time and pumped til N was 13 months old). I was never able to go past 3 hours because I barely produced for the pump just what he was taking in at the sitter.

twood80 07-19-2013 10:27 AM