Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   nusing a baby in the summer (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=153777)

mariewes 05-24-2007 11:54 AM

nusing a baby in the summer

this is my first time nursing a baby in hot weather...so I was curious about some things.

I know you aren't supposed to give water or anything, but will the BM really cool them down? Should you nurse more frequently to keep well hydrated?

Has anyone ever thought of (or done) making BM popsicles? :lostit: LOL- just a thought.

Give me your summer nursing tips!:mrgreen:

Sweetpotatoesmom 05-24-2007 11:59 AM

Re: nusing a baby in the summer

I'm pretty sure that the bm will keep him hydrated enough. It it something like83%(estimate) water.

Leininger27 05-24-2007 12:03 PM

I made my kiddos BM popsicles. They loved them and definitely cooled them down. They were great for teething too!

BRIDEN 05-24-2007 12:04 PM

I nursed my son when he was a newborn all summer and he was fine. :) I plan to nurse him this summer as well, but of course he is a bit older and can have water or whatever. I would not worry about the baby getting dehydrated :). Just nurse alot! :) I was told by teh LLL to nurse more often esp in hot days :)

togg_mama 05-24-2007 12:12 PM

we've had upper 90's and low 100's for the past couple of weeks and my 3 month old nursling is just eating more often. Of course I am careful not to keep her in the heat too long, but she seems fine, is still gaining weight and all that good stuff. :goodvibes:

LydiaJW 05-24-2007 01:11 PM