Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Parenting Talk (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Thinking about working Part time...feeling guilty about leaving the kids!! (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16705)

keeperof3angels 06-23-2006 12:12 AM

Thinking about working Part time...feeling guilty about leaving the kids!!

Ok, i've been a stay at home mom for almost 5 years, so i'm feeling a little guilty and a bit like i'm going to be a bad mom if I take a part time job that has been offered to me??(no offense to anyone who may work part time, this is just a feeling that i have since i have been home with them for so long).

I have a bachlors degree and worked in the IT industry for 4 years and then became a stay at home mom...but now I have been offered a part time position working basically when i want, meaning i pick my hours and working only 25 hours a week...i was thinking about working while my oldest (which is the only one in school) was in school, so from like 8-2ish, four days a week...I would have my mom and sister in law watch my almost 1 year old and 3 year old....but i just feel like i'm being selfish for not being a stay at home mom any more :-( I love being a stay at home mom, and i love the title :-) but the money they are offering me is awesome and it would help dh out with the bills and not put so much stress on him that i hate not taking it....but on the other hand...I don't want to miss any of my girls' life, especially not when they are young (and not when their older either)...idealy i would have loved to wait until my youngest was a little older because i'm still nursing (which i will continue to do), but this job basically found me and it is super flexible and seems more unreal than anything.....