Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Diaper Chatter and Q & A (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   What kind of detergent do you use on your pockets? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17992)

ocfb16 06-27-2006 08:06 PM

What kind of detergent do you use on your pockets?

Okay I am just about fed up with my pocket diapers. I love them when they are working and hate them when they're not. I've been using cloth for 4 months now and it seems like every other week I am stripping. I first realized I might be using the wrong detergent (TIDE) and the wrong amount. So I stripped them over and over (hot washes with dawn). There are never any bubbles when I wash them in the hot water alone. The only thing that worked was hand scrubbing them with dawn. With 35 diapers that is exhausting and my hands ended up blistering. So from that point on I started washing with Dawn only (I was told by the FB lady that this was okay) and hang dry them all so it cannot be from fabric sheet buildup in the dryer. Well I have leaking pockets again!!!! :banghead:

So what kind of detergent do you use? and exactly how much for about 20-35 pockets? Have you had any problems with it? Keep in mind I have NO washing soda anywhere around me and no TTO. I cannot afford to order detergents online or anything like Allens.

My inserts absorb well but they always reek of urine and ammonia after she pees. I was them with dawn as well and do hot washes over and over afterwards and there are NO BUBBLES. So what is the problem?

Fullhouse 06-27-2006 08:12 PM

Re: What kind of detergent do you use on your pockets?

I use just Dawn myself. The "Odor Eraser" formula, lol!

Voltige 06-27-2006 08:20 PM