Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   In The Kitchen (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   What do you do w/ leftover egg yolks? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=312252)

hollyday27 01-17-2008 12:39 PM

What do you do w/ leftover egg yolks?

I've been cooking like a mad woman these last few days trying to expierment since I'm a newbie cooker. Anyways, I'm doing a lot with the Decept. Del. cookbook (Did the carrot muffins today YUM! Both DH & DS are HUGELY picky and they loved them!) and I'm doing the Egg Puffs for dinner with Buttered Noodles (is that a weird combo?). Well, I have four yolks left over. Is there anything you can do with them or are they trash?

PS I didn't realize that I already had cream of mushroom soup and after my trip to the store yesturday I now have eight cans! :giggle: What can I do with them all besides green bean casorole? :yuck:

connorsmama 01-17-2008 12:45 PM

Re: What do you do w/ leftover egg yolks?

you can make creme brulee with egg yolks, sugar , heavy cream, and vanilla extract! yummy dessert!

greenMImama 01-17-2008 12:46 PM

extra egg yolks, I make home made ice cream, yummy, or you can make home made pudding, since it calls for yolks not whites.

when you have to many whites then you make angel food cake, or meruings

hollyday27 01-17-2008 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by connorsmama (Post 2535733)
you can make creme brulee with egg yolks, sugar , heavy cream, and vanilla extract! yummy dessert!

I don't have heavy cream, but is it the same as evaported milk? :blush:

sillymama 01-17-2008 12:49 PM

You can use it to make the cook and serve (not instant) lemon pudding.