Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   EC - Elimination Communication (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=128)
-   -   Newbie wanting to get started (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=332511)

bonniec_tn 02-08-2008 06:00 AM

Newbie wanting to get started

Hey Girls
I am a newbie to EC and to be honest with you I didn't even know it was possible until a while back when I stumbled upon someone here on DS talking about it. Well, long story short, I have a 5 month old and I would like to start EC with him,,,is it too late?? how do i get started?? It just seems so overwhelming!!
Thanks In Advance!
Bonnie

lovinclothmama 02-08-2008 06:51 AM

Re: Newbie wanting to get started

Hes a great age to start!
Start small like when he first wakes up let him pee in the toilet or sink. Those first waking pees are the easiest to catch.
Try if you can to give him either a diaper free or cover free day ALL day and see if you notice any patterns (such as he may pee 20 minutes after a feeding) or signals he makes (alot of boys pull at themselves or my daughter use to squirm and fuss then get very still right before when she was 5 months).
Try not to stress. There WILL be misses. Its not about how many you can catch or miss its about building a bond with your baby that will last a lifetime.

bonniec_tn 02-08-2008 08:29 AM

i know already that he is a creature of habit. He usually has a HUGE BM about 30 min after he wakes up and then another in the late afternoon. It is pretty easy for me to know when he poopies but i guess i just need to watch for signals that he needs to go pee. are there any books out there that are worth giving my time to reading? Should i get one of those cute little potties? or just use a bowl?
sorry for so many questions,, i just find this all fascinating.
thanks!

SaraBear 02-08-2008 11:12 AM