Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Formula Feeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   How do you not waste formula? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=340932)

shmer24 02-17-2008 08:55 PM

How do you not waste formula?

Can you leave it out longer than an hour like the package says? I feel like I'm always dumping out left over and I hate it. Not only is it super expensive, but I just hate waisting. What do you mama's do?

AmandaS 02-17-2008 08:57 PM

Re: How do you not waste formula?

Can you make smaller bottles?

MarinesFamily5 02-17-2008 10:02 PM

we were always told 3 hrs by nurses and such.. on hot days though 1 hr

Mirasmom 02-17-2008 10:04 PM

We do 4 hrs at the hospital- I'm a nurse- we hang a new continuous feeding every 4 hours.

hollissmama 02-17-2008 10:28 PM

We also use it for about 2-3 hours, it depends on the temperature though. If it is in the cold car, longer and in the summer we would just take it into the air-conditioned stores w/ us. We haven't had any issues (it's been 9 months) I'm glad I read this thread though...now I don't feel guilty about using "old formula"...lol.

vickieboggs 02-17-2008 10:36 PM

I have no advice but let me tell you I am bf and when he takes a bottle but not all of it and I have to throw my milk away......that hurts! technically it's free but my time pumping wasn't !! i'd try smaller bottles......you may end up with more frequent feedings though.

LunaBirch 02-18-2008 09:03 AM

We do about 4 hours as well.. and Ive never had an issue with illness with either babe. My 2 yo still is on formula and hes been known to stash a bottle, and drink it later.. sometimes 10-12 hrs and he's never gotten sick from it or anything.