Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Special Needs (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=130)
-   -   aspergers (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=385392)

maddy 04-04-2008 04:24 PM

aspergers

my 16 year old brother may go to a residential treatment center. He has Aspergers and is pretty scared to go. He is not attending school and is staying up at night and sleeping all day and no longer will take his meds(risperdone). Any advice out there? We live in Canada.

maddy 04-04-2008 07:37 PM

Re: aspergers

anyone?

For The Love Of Cloth 04-04-2008 07:42 PM

I don't know anything about aspergers but I wanted to give :hugs:

Hope it all works out ok.

cricketsmomma 04-04-2008 10:30 PM

well, I don't know much about Canada but I'm a teacher and I've worked with some high schoolers with Aspergers...
for some of the kids I've met, residential treatment centers are a real blessing. Even though most of them are not thrilled with the structure, sometimes having predictable surroundings and consistent medication makes a ton of difference. As long as you (the family in general, too) are able to be in close contact I bet everything will be fine. You will be able to tell if the facility is responsible and safe if you visit often. If he's having problems as serious as they sound, a center could be a really great option and might let the family get a little break and gather some strength for when he returns home. :hugs:

allycat 04-09-2008 06:32 AM

No advice here, but just wanted to say that I was thinking about you and your son and I hope that he can get some help through the treatment center:hugs:

keegans_mommy 04-09-2008 06:49 AM

I don't know what to tell you except I understand the frustrations with kids with Asperger Syndrome as my ODD has it too. :hugs:

alnink 04-09-2008 07:13 AM