Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   What Can I Eat? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=401484)

argecash 04-20-2008 06:08 PM

What Can I Eat?

I am new to BF and I am confused about what I should eat. I have been told not to eat onions, broccoli, chocolate, beans, caffeine and dairy. My LO is gassy so I don't want to eat anything that will make it worse...I would prefer to eliminate things that cause the gas. Does anyone have advice on things they have eliminated or not eliminated from their diet. I don't know what to eat anymore!

Audrey

carnalcindd 04-20-2008 06:22 PM

Re: What Can I Eat?

I have been bfing for almost a year now and have found all that stuff that ppl tell you not to eat to be a complete myth. I eat whatever I want (including drinking coffee) and notice no difference in ds at all. I was so scared to drink coffee at first since he has sleep issues, but I have seen no difference whatsoever when I drink it or not.

I say eat what you want. :thumbsup:

normajean 04-20-2008 06:25 PM

I would say unless you notice a bad allergic reaction to something, eat what you want :)

armywife2002 04-20-2008 07:44 PM

eat what you want, unless something is causing a reaction. we just cut out dairy because it was causing ds skin issues, but thats all im restricting

Meri 04-20-2008 07:56 PM

Onion and brocolli are definite culprits for us--but everything else is fine. How old is your baby? Are you sure he's gassy? Some babies just have a hard time adjusting to being out in the world and people assume it's gas.

SublimeBaby 04-20-2008 11:05 PM

I had always heard that it was all a myth that foods caused adverse reactions..
not with my LO.. we started a diary and she definately reacts to:

nuts (poop turns green and suppppper gassy)