Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Parenting Talk (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   What do you do when... (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=585250)

UnderTheStars 10-24-2008 09:54 PM

What do you do when...

...your baby's breath could kill a small horse? I used to love the sweet smell of baby breath but mercy, ever since this child started eating solids her breath has gotten terrible! She's only 8mos old, with two teeth - at what point are you supposed to start "brushing" them? (And if I'm already behind on doing some sort of "maintenence", please tell me! I'm new at this mom thing!)

lovinclothmama 10-24-2008 09:59 PM

Re: What do you do when...

If I remember correctly around 1 1/2 - 2 yo is when you start brushing! Not sure what to say about stinky breath at this age. Maybe ask the doc what you could do?

snangel 10-24-2008 11:10 PM

My youngest see's a cranio facial team, and his orthodontist told us to brush his gums with a "baby tooth brush" With my younger 2 we started at the first signs of teeth. I don't know what is "normal" though....

tallanvor 10-25-2008 12:21 AM

I have heard it said before that when your children start getting teeth, to start brushing. I know of some parents that just take a wet cloth and rub their babies gums without using any sort of tooth cleanser. I don't see how it could hurt to start brushing at this age. If you are not sure about using cleanser, just do it with water and that should help.

ouchienurse 10-25-2008 01:42 AM

They make infant tooth cleanser. Orajel makes a good one and it comes with a little "brush" that goes on your finger and you just rub their gums

Shaylee 10-25-2008 08:46 AM