Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Breastfeeding Support (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Working Mamas,How Bad Is It? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=63646)

Sarah 11-16-2006 05:37 PM

Working Mamas,How Bad Is It?

I just got an offer for a temp,full time job. Yeah the money would be awesome. I'm concerned about pumping so much and what it may do to the nursing relationship. Anybody want to fill me in?

jenncatsmeow 11-16-2006 05:51 PM

Re: Working Mamas,How Bad Is It?

I had to go back to work (I am a teacher, breadwinner, and benefits carrier for my family) when DD was 6 months old. She is now 17 months old, and we're still nursing strong. I don't think it had a negative impact on the nursing relationship at all....in fact, as soon as I get home from work each day we enjoy a wonderful cuddling/nursing session. At first, I pumped twice a day and continued to nurse her right before I left the house, as soon as I got home, and on demand throughout the evening and night. Now that she's on solids too, I only pump on my lunch time.....

The worst part of going back to work.....was leaving her. I cried every day for the first 2 weeks back to work, as I pulled out of my driveway (my husband stayed home with her). This year, back at school, with my husband in Iraq, was also tough, since I had to leave her with a sitter 2 days a week and my mom watches her the other 3. Those 2 sitter days were hard for awhile, until we got into a routine and I see that she loves the sitter.

I wish I didn't have to work and that I could be home all day with my dd, but having an income is important, and I do like my job, and I know that the time she and I do spend together is sooo much more valuable.

mrs endrizzi 11-16-2006 07:01 PM