Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   In The Kitchen (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Need Help for planning "Frugal" weekly menus (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=909604)

*LizziesLoops* 01-16-2010 08:34 PM

Need Help for planning "Frugal" weekly menus

Hey mamas! I'm trying to cut down out grocery bill and start actually planning a weekly menu with recipes that are "frugal" I'd like to keep meals to under $10 each daily meal so I can manage to spend about $70-80 a week on groceries. I'm a decent cook and can manage to follow most recipes but really have no idea how to plan and shop for a weekly menu. I'd really like to use recipes with a minimal of prep. time and also avoid a bunch of pre-packaged foods. We generally do a frozen pizza every Tuesday (dance classes so not much time for dinner)...so that's easy at least...but I really need help making meal planning easy and inexpensive. What do y'all do for meal planning?

ittybittycoconuts 01-16-2010 10:56 PM

Re: Need Help for planning "Frugal" weekly menus

I shop on wed when the new sales fliers go into effect, some do double ad day where you get the deals from the old and new flier. Go through pick the store or stores that have the most appealing ads and plan from there. I also buy on sale. BS chix breast can be found somewhere on sale for $1.99 or less every 2-3 weeks so I always buy about 3 weeks worth or more if its a way better deal.

http://www.cheapcooking.com/costperserving.htm
thats great to know if cheaper cuts are really worth it

I also buy staples like rice in bulk $10 for 25lbs vs $1.50 for 1lb bag makes since right? I just use it as I normally would not necessarily to get it used up fast.

this week we did