Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com

Cloth Diapers & Parenting Community - DiaperSwappers.com (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Western Canada (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=118)
-   -   Selling cloth diapers as an at home business? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=916545)

Kaitlyn1 01-26-2010 07:11 PM

Selling cloth diapers as an at home business?

Ok so I was wondering if there's Canadian (or one that's available in canada) diapers company that works like Avon or Mary K, like where you become a representative and sell their products? I would love to do something like that, but I know I couldn't like start up my own business like that, for a few reasons, like the fact that I can't sew! And the work that would be required to prepare orders.
But if I could sell, again like they do with avon, that'd be so amazing!
And since I'm new to all this cloth stuff, I really don't know what's out there! If there even anything like that around? So any info would be great!
Thanks ladies!!

Jinxiepie 01-27-2010 11:29 AM

Re: Selling cloth diapers as an at home business?

I have been thinking the same thing as you. I have been doing "home parties" with my diapers and that works well, I take samples to the party, demonstrate how they work, take orders, make them, then deliver them. I have been thinking about letting other moms do this too, they could just buy one or two diapers to use as their display diapers and then they can do a "home party" and place and order with me, then they get a commission. With Avon, you sell the product at retail price, then when you place your order, you get a discount, so you keep the difference as your profit.

I think the home party option is better than say an avon style catalogue.

Does anyone else think selling my diapers to home-party hostess mom's is a good idea to do?

NoraD 01-27-2010 04:07 PM